More Eagle Scout Scholarships

Besides the National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) Academic Scholarship, and the NESA Merit Scholarships, which we have covered over the past two days, there are other scholarships available to Eagle Scouts.

Before I get started, know that this list is no where near complete. I would encourage you to check with your local Council to see if they have any Eagle Scout Scholarships, or know of local community organizations that have Scholarship opportunities. You should also check with the school you are applying to, to see what Scholarships they have available.

Religious Scholarships:
Emmett J. Doerr Memorial Distinguished Scout Scholarship
The National Catholic Committee on Scouting® has established the Emmett J. Doerr Memorial Distinguished Scout Scholarship, which annually awards 5 $2000 scholarships to outstanding Catholic high school seniors who are Scouts in a BSA program and continuing their education in college. Applications are due to the NCCS office by March 1 of each year.

Eastern Orthodox Committee on Scouting Scholarships
The Eastern Orthodox Committee on Scouting offers two scholarships. The recipient for first place will receive $1,000 and the runner up will receive $500 upon acceptance to a four year accredited college or university. The candidates are evaluated on their involvement in their church, school, community, scholastic achievements, and Scouting. Applications are due May 1st of each year.

National Jewish Committee on Scouting Eagle Scout Scholarship Programs
The National Jewish Committee on Scouting offers three scholarships: The Chester M. Vernon Memorial Eagle Scout Scholarship ($1,000 per year for four years), Rick Arkans Eagle Scout Scholarship (one-time $1,000), and the Frank L. Weil Eagle Scout Scholarship (one, one-time $1000 scholarship, two second place $500 scholarships). Applications are due February 28th.

Civic Organization Scholarships:
American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year
The American Legion annually honors The American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year at its National Convention. The winner of the competition receives an $10,000 scholarship and the three runners-up each are awarded $2,500 scholarships. Further information is available from Department Adjutants, or the Americanism and Children & Youth Division. At this time the 2009 application is not available.

Arthur M. & Berdena King Eagle Scout Scholarship
Open to all Eagle Scouts who are currently registered in an active unit and have not reached their 19th birthday during the year of application. (The application year is the calendar year, 01 Jan. to 31 Dec.) The year that Eagle was awarded is not restricted. College plans do not need to be completed in order to receive the cash scholarship. Three cash scholarship awards are given: As the National First Place winner – $8,000.00; Runner-up – $4,000.00; 2nd runner-up – $2,000.00. You may apply more than one year if you meet the age requirements but no more than $8,000.00 total may be granted to any one Eagle Scout.

VFW Scout of the Year Scholarship
The VFW Scout of the Year Scholarship program provides a $5,000 award to an outstanding scout who is the recipient of a Boy Scout Eagle Award, a Venture Scouting Silver Award or a Sea Scout Quartermaster Award. Second-place winner receives a $3,000 award. Entries must be submitted to a local VFW Post by March 1st, 2009.

Many schools offer institution specific scholarships, since these opportunities change annually, please contact the specific school to see if they offer an Eagle Scout Scholarship.

Besides, Eagle Scout specific scholarships, remember that being an Eagle Scout will give you an advantage and good topic for leadership and service essays in regular academic or merit based scholarships. The experiences you have gained as an Eagle Scout are usually far beyond what a traditional High School student has experienced.

Leave a Reply